Skip to main content

2023 CEC-TAG Awards and Honors

dr. michelle frazier trotman scott

Congratulations to Dr. Michelle Frazier Trotman Scott! The Awards Committee of The Association for the Gifted (TAG) has selected Dr. Trotman Scott from the University of West Georgia as the recipient of the 2023 TAG Diversity Award for outstanding efforts to serve gifted and talented students, particularly those who are racially, culturally, ethnically, and linguistically different and who are 2E. TAG is excited to recognize Dr. Trotman Scott’s exceptional career of service!

Michelle Frazier Trotman Scott, PhD, is a professor at the University of West Georgia and the Director of Graduate Affairs. She teaches in the area of Special Education within the Department Literacy and Special Education. Her full bio can be found here:


TAG Board Member and CEC Member, Michelle Buchanan, was highlighted on the CEC’s Special Education TODAY. Dr. Buchanan was a CEC Yes I Can Award recipient as a high school student in 1993. Follow this link for her CEC story.…  

Emerging Leader


Renae Danielle Mayes, Ph.D., from the University of Arizona, has emerged as a very important voice in gifted education, special education, school counseling, and urban education, especially as they relate to twice-exceptional students of color in urban school contexts. Dr. Mayes has an impressive portfolio in all of these topical areas; she has a significant number of publications in top-tier scholarly outlets that offer a great deal of national and international visibility. She is one of the few persons of color in the U.S. whose work sheds important light on twice-exceptional, students of color in urban schools. 

Service Award


Susan Baum, Ph.D. is co-director of the International Center for Talent Development and Director of the National Institute for twice-exceptional Research and Development at Bridges Academy. As Professor Emeritus from The College of New Rochelle, and an international consultant, Susan is published in a multitude of books, chapters, and articles in the areas of twice-exceptional students, primary-aged gifted students, social and emotional factors affecting gifted students, and multiple intelligences. She served on the Board of Directors of the National Association for Gifted Children and is past president and co-founder of the Association for the Education of Gifted Underachieving Students. She is recipient of the Weinfeld Group’s Lifetime Achievement Award for her work in educating the twice-exceptional child.

Posted:  10 July, 2023

© 2024 Council for Exceptional Children (CEC). All rights reserved.